Dear Money


Money

Money (Photo credit: 401(K) 2013)

Our relationship has its ups and downs, its true that sometimes you are there for me and other times you disappeared when I needed you most. If you were a person that treated me this way I would have cut you lose a long time ago. The problem is you aren’t a person, you are this thing, a piece of paper that I revere, pray for, curse and sometimes wonder if you do bring happiness or evil.

My aspirations for my life are mine, I work hard at creating them and living up to the potential I know I posess. Today, however I decided to take a good, long, hard look at my consistently depressing relationship with you, Money.  Then I did what all good students do, I researched who you were, where you came from, why you evolved into the paper you are today and what special ways do you perform, how to create more of you through test-tube babies, and some obscure article relating to corporate bailouts and increased taxes on small businesses.

You have had the history, my friend, and yet I noticed something very important through all my research.  You are the created image of my previous thoughts, desires and experiences, which I took from family, friends, media, books, and lottery tickets. I thought you up as my sole savior, release from imprisonment based on these ideals spouted everyday of my life.

Money is evil, greedy, painful, only for others, hard to get, necessary, never enough….

  • “You have to work hard, save your money.
  • Don’t buy what you don’t need.
  • Get the best technology for staying current with the world around you.
  • Climb the corporate ladder!,
  • Build your self and your business through venture capital!
  • Create, be, you are rich! You could be a millionaire…”

The thoughts just repeat, get more ridiculous and sometimes boring.

So, I want to thank you for giving me the opportunity to pay my rent, increase my shoe collection and having a vehicle for mobility. Thank you for helping me navigate the world and understand that there is a bar for people to reach. Thank you for setting the standards for rich, poor, wealthy, ghetto, trailer trash, middle class, upper class, silver spoon and industrialized countries.

I am deciding now, that these thought patterns, viewpoints and current ideals no longer serve my life, me or my future. Thank you and have a good day.

Instead; I am embracing a new way of looking at the need to buy and sell items through Amazon or Etsy, on the street corner and through dirty garage sales. I am changing my mind about you, Money, I will no longer bad mouth you, hold you in fear or even curse you. Today I will love you and appreciate you, make a space for you in my life with abundance and enthusiasm!

Today, I will create a world where money flows like rivers from the eternal ocean of treasures. Today I will sit among my family and laugh at the wonderous beauty in something simple. Today I will embrace you, Money with open arms loving the joy you bring through letting go. Today I will share you with everyone because I know what its like without you.

MoneyToday, I am attracting money like the moon attracts the tides upon the shores.

Today, I am rich

Image representing Etsy as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

beyond any measure by the outside world.

I am now so happy and grateful that money flows into my pockets, my bank accounts, my business with freedom, ease and consistency.

I am free from the idea that there is not enough, today I believe, know and shout to the world:

There is enough Money for everyone.

About The Well

From an idea to fruition, spells, incantations, perhaps the odd parenting advice and sometimes the blossoming of self.
This entry was posted in Bad, Good and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Money

  1. Liberation from money! Oh how great would that be. Money has us in shackles, and like you said it’s never enough. Great post! I just wrote a post on how on the “pursuit of happiness” we get deluded into believing happiness can be bought. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

